Michael Stonebraker and Lawrence Rowe receive the inagural (2015) SIGMOD Systems Award

Dr. Michael Stonebraker and Dr. Lawrence A. Rowe are the recipients of the 2015 SIGMOD Systems Award for fundamental contributions to the design and implementation of modern, object-relational database systems as embodied by the Postgres DBMS.

Call for Nominations Editor-In-Chief ACM Transactions on Information and System Security (to become ACM Transactions on Privacy and Security)

The ACM Publications Board solicits nominations for Editor-in-Chief for ACM Transactions on Privacy and Security (TOPS). TOPS continues the ACM Transactions on Information and System Security (TISSEC) series, but with an expanded scope (see below) and new name. EiC candidates will be asked to provide a plan for how to carry out this transformation.

Call for Nominations: Editor-In-Chief of the Journal of the ACM

The term of Victor Vianu, the current Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the ACM (JACM), is coming to an end. A search committee has been formed to identify candidates for the next Editor-in-Chief and to recommend the most suitable one to the ACM Publications Board.

The SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award and SIGMOD Systems Award now have a $10000 (USD) honorarium.

Microsoft is the sponsor of the new SIGMOD Systems Award. With support from Microsoft, SIGMOD was able to raise the award levels significantly for these two prestigious awards.

Jennifer Widom named the ACM-W 2015-6 Athena Lecturer

The ACM-W Athena Lecturer Award celebrates women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to Computer Science.